With a New Baby Boy Comes a New Baby Quilt

I’ve had a post for the new year half done in my files for a while now and lo and behold, it’s almost February! This year is starting off even faster than last which I didn’t think was possible.  And that new year post…it’s getting put off even longer.  This time it’s for a good reason.  Some very good friends of mine recently welcomed a brand new baby boy to their family.  With that brand new baby boy comes a brand new baby quilt.

 

 

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do for him until I heard that his nursery was decorated with Dr. Suess art prints.  I immediately thought of the Dr. Suess line of Robert Kaufmann fabric.  This fabric line is amazing with prints featuring most every Dr. Suess character and a wonderful array of coordinates including these crazy polka dots.  My favorite! 

 

 

I decided to make this print the center of attention and support it with that wonderful polka dot and some solids.  Based off of a quilt my mom made as a Christmas present for my nephew, it is the perfect play quilt. At about 48″ square it is the perfect fit for new baby and his older brother.  Here is the finished product.  I have to say, its one of my favorites.  Go get yourself some Suess!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

