A Little More Suess…and also Purple

I have come to the time in my life when everyone seems to be having babies.  Cute babies.  Cute babies that spit up on things.  So today I bring you burp cloths because the best presents are the most useful presents.  This is a crazy easy project to make to make those burp cloths just a little bit cuter and is also a good use for all of those left over fabric scraps.  The foundation for this project is none other than plain old cotton diapers.

 

I had a bunch of scraps left over from this quilt I posted about earlier and once again, took a cue from my mom who has made similar burp cloths for several little babies.  I simply stitched some scraps together, turned under all the raw edges, and zig-zag stitched the bands of fabric along each edge of the cloth.  The key is to pre-wash everything several times.  These diapers shrink!

 

 

In addition to the Suess scraps, I also dove into my purple and gray stash, remnants from this little baby quilt with a Northwestern theme.  (See a similar University of Cincinnati themed quilt and how I made it here.) 

 

 

This project could not be easier and is the perfect super cute baby shower gift.  Go forth and make burp cloths for all those little babies.

Leave a Reply

